Monday, 30 December 2019

Nessus, Herald of Death by Aradia Miniatures

In May 2017 Aradia Miniatures ran a Kickstarter for the characters from Dante’s Divine Comedy. It funded in just 2 hours!

After the Kickstarter had fulfilled Aradia began to release the miniatures through their store and one of the wave 2 kits in the Divine Comedy range is Nessus.


Monday, 23 December 2019

Eldareon from Black Crow Miniatures

Back in 2014, Black Crow Miniatures released their first creation on the miniature community which was well received as being a really high quality product.

To date they have eighteen releases (yes; two of them were different versions of previous releases) and majority have come from concept art by Guillermo González.

Eldareon marks the second time Edgar Ramos has been given sculpting duties and if you've seen his previous Wraith I'm sure you can understand why. Especially as it has sold out multiple times.


Friday, 20 December 2019

Hélene (limited edition) by Graphigaut

As Christmas looms ever closer we are all looking for gifts to send to our loved ones. We the people of hobby town love to search out new miniatures and busts. We search all corners of the market for quality pieces to paint and often show in competitions.

One corner of hobby town is occupied by Gautier Giroud who runs Graphigaut Studios.

Gautier has sculpted many pieces on the market from gaming miniatures to busts and large scale figurines. He also has his own range which comprises of the Lisha bust, Moonfairy01, Mina Dragon Hunter, and now Hélène.


Monday, 16 December 2019

Horizon by Romain Van den Bogaert

(Say this in ya best pirate accent)

AAAAR ya land lubbers. Cap'n Normski ere sharing a piece of my bounty liberated from the French mainland from the coffers of Romain Van den Bogaert. Read along before it get buried with the rest of my treasure under GreyMountain...

Why are Pirate reviews the best? Coz they AAAAAAAARRRR!!!

And what is a Pirates favourite hobby subject? AAAAAAART!!

One more? (please no)

Nah, I think that is enough of the cheesy Pirate jocks for now. Wouldn’t want to go overboard with the pirate jokes and wouldn’t want to hijack this review with loads of Pirate puns would we me hearties..

Ok gonna stop now.. Maybe?? (please...oh please do)

Let's take a look at the new release from the RVDB studio. Horizon.


Monday, 9 December 2019

Perseus from Fan Art Models

Fan Art Models launched in 2017 and have built up a current range of thirteen busts. One of just a few companies I can think of coming out of Russia but they are available in a variety of stores around the world.

I decided to take a look over their Perseus bust as the character and the creature, Medusa has always been one I have heard of thanks to the old Ray Harryhausen 'Clash of the Titans' film.


Monday, 2 December 2019

Avian the Forest Witch from Massive Miniatures

Massive Miniatures released a couple of busts at Scale Model Challenge 2019. I took a good look over 'A Moment of Serenity' a few weeks ago, but now I'll have a go over 'Avian the Forest Witch'.

In true Massive Miniatures style this bust has been sculpted by someone different to previous releases with Stanislav Che creating the digital sculpture. This is someone I've not come across before.


Monday, 25 November 2019

Huia the Goddess of Life from Kaha Miniatures




Anyone like Jigsaws?

I do.

Just as well because this figure is one of those kits that will require time and patience to assemble and paint nicely.

Monday, 18 November 2019

A Moment of Serenity from Massive Miniatures

Massive Miniatures is the baby of Luke Wilson who I've known for a few years now thanks to the now gone, Figure Painter Magazine.

I was lucky to get an early look at this bust along with my wife, who decided straight away that she wanted to treat me to it. Especially as we have often spent time out feeding squirrels and she could tell I liked the look of the unfinished sculpt by Peder Bartholdy.

Now, I could just say everything is amazing with 'A Moment of Serenity'. But frankly Luke would have a go at me if I didn't treat this with the same honesty as everything else I review. And so...


Monday, 11 November 2019

Roman Legatus 1st Century AD from Pegaso Models

Pegaso Models have had a number of top quality releases throughout 2019 and now I get to take a look over one of the November line up in the form of the 75mm, Roman Legatus.


Monday, 4 November 2019

Gandhi from 2dreamers

What have John Glenn, Uri Gagarin, Jules Verne and HP Lovecraft all got in common?

Any guesses?

No?

They are all pals with Edgar Allan Poe...
well at least in the miniature range from 2dreamers they are.

And to add to this very eclectic bunch of historical characters they have been joined by Gandhi.

Imagine walking into a room and seeing Gandhi chatting with the creator of Cthulhu and the author of Mask of the Red Death surrounded by cosmonauts, astronauts and a crab fisherman all being eyed up by Cthulhu and a couple of crazy looking dwarves.

That room is indeed Petr Vlk’s very own piece of the figure painting community.

Only after many pints of beer and some questionable sea food would you have a dream as mind blowing as this. But Petr has put 2dreamers on the map with his very cool range of miniatures and today we are looking at one of his newest releases; the above mentioned, Gandhi.


Wednesday, 30 October 2019

Infinity Defiance game from Corvus Belli

Infinity Defiance is a new dungeon crawler game system coming from Corvus Belli, the makers of Infinity the Game and Aristeia.

At the time of writing this review the game I was made to feel that it is destined to be a Kickstarter exclusive which launched on October 29th, 2019. I really hope the exclusivity will change. Especially after having some time to get to grips with one of the prototype copies of the game which is based around the demo they have been giving at shows and events recently.


(Much more than in the prototype. Especially floor tyles)

Monday, 28 October 2019

Tigro by Carmine Giugliano

Hi and welcome to another Monday on GreyMountain Reviews.

Today we take a quick look at Tigro from Carmine Giugliano.



Monday, 21 October 2019

No Pasarán, CNT Militia woman Barcelona, 1936 from FeR Miniatures

I'll put my hand up and admit that I know nothing about the Spanish revolution or the militia women, the "libertarias" who broke traditional conventions and took up arms along with their male counterparts.

This bust is part of the 1/12th scale Magna Historica bust range from FeR Miniatures and really stands out among many of the female busts available on the market.



Wednesday, 16 October 2019

Road Girl busts from Journeyman Miniatures (part 2)

Time for the second part of the Road Girl busts review. If you haven't read part 1 then I recommend starting there first.

I left you with this image of both Journeyman Miniatures busts together after going over the academic version.



Monday, 14 October 2019

Road Girl busts from Journeyman Miniatures (part 1)

Journeyman Miniatures have just released their second, and technically third miniatures in their range. I reviewed Bograth the Hunter a few week ago, but Road Girl is a very different style.

Road Girl comes in two forms. A three-quarter bust and a larger scale academic bust. And I'll look at both in this review... but will split it over two parts so I don't overload you in one go.




Monday, 7 October 2019

Cherry Viewfinder from Kimera Models

"Aridam is a post-apocaliptic wasteland world set in a dystopian time where the civilisation stopped in the 80's"
(quote from Kimera Models)

This tag line in itself explains so much about the whole look, style and name of Cherry Viewfinder. A wasteland sniper with a mean looking attitude.


Friday, 4 October 2019

Viking Raider Ireland, 795 from FeR Miniatures

Something a little older for this review as I often feel that existing miniatures often get overlooked by new shiny releases. 
There are many gems out there if you really look.

So... who doesn't love a good viking miniature?



Monday, 23 September 2019

Bograth the Hunter from Journeyman Miniatures

Journeyman Miniatures have become known for bringing talented teachers to from the miniature world to the UK. People like Banshee, Roman Lappat, and LAN to name just a few.

In 2019 after quite a long time and pre-production work; Journeyman Miniatures finally released their first miniature in the form of Bograth the Hunter.



Monday, 16 September 2019

Grace - Duelist from Mr Lee's Minis

Mr Lee's Minis is one of those companies which seems to have something for anyone who's looking for figures or busts to add to their collection. Many are from established brands or sculptors but they also carry many items exclusive to them through their own line.

Grace - Duelist is a new addition to that line as a 1/24th scale (75mm) figure.



Wednesday, 11 September 2019

Bold Miniatures Kickstarter part 2 (Valery)

On launch day of the Kickstarter I shared with you part one of the review for Anna and Valery. Today at the close of the Kickstarter I am taking a look at Valery, as promised.

Valery comes to you from concept art by Katherine Zhuk, the artist for Joshua.
James W Cain again brings the art to life with his 3D sculpting skills.

Bold Miniatures have got a very unique style to their range, post apocalyptic with a touch of historical/fantasy to the clothing.


Monday, 9 September 2019

Trooper, 17th Lancers, Crimea, 1854 from FeR Miniatures

Today I take a bit of time to have a good look over the second August 2019 release from FeR Miniatures. This time we are still on the British side of the Crimean War with the 17th Lancers who were part of the ill fated Charge of the Light Brigade during the Battle of Balaclava on October 25th, 1854.



Monday, 2 September 2019

Bold Miniatures Kickstarter part 1 (Anna)


Bold Miniatures are a relevantly new company run by Mario Ferreira Vilanova. He started Bold back in July of 2018.

Mario always had a vision of using the most talented artists in the hobby to produce high quality miniatures and for his first release he produced Joshua. This miniature came from the art work of Elisa Day (also known as Katherine Zhuk) and was 3D sculpted by James W Cain with box art by Sergio Calvo Rubio.

The Kickstarter for Joshua was successful and Joshua saw paint jobs all across the globe with Trent Denison’s version most noticeable after Sergio’s box art.

This next Kickstarter will see the release of the next two pieces from Bold Miniatures. Anna and Valery.



Monday, 19 August 2019

Friday, 16 August 2019

Micro Art Studio bases selection

Micro Art Studio (MAS) are a Poland based company who have built up quite a range of bases, scenery, and accessories for use with games like Infinity, Star Wars Legion, Wolsung, and others. They also have a great range of figures and busts from the Discworld stories by Sir Terry Pratchet.




Monday, 12 August 2019

Zensh-Iku, Captain of the Children of the Sea from Abyssoul

Zensh-Iku is the first full figure to join the growing Abyssoul range and sits well in the 75mm size. Initially she was teased on the Abyssoul Facebook page with the original concept art by Mirko Failoni (as shown here).


(Art by Mirko Failoni)

Monday, 5 August 2019

The Old Druid by Carmine Giugliano


Going back now to early 2017; Carmine released the Old Druid. This piece went by under my radar for some time as my first sculpt by Carmine was the Van Helsing bust back in 2016 and I didn’t catch on to his personal projects right up until 2019. 



Monday, 29 July 2019

European Knight XIVc. by Tartar Miniatures

Time for a little trip back in time. So far we haven't looked at any historical miniatures on GMR and even though I do not paint them as often as perhaps I should; I do have a soft spot for them and often find myself looking them over.

Recently thanks to a very supportive friend I came into possession of Tartar Miniatures 14th century European Knight (TR75-66) which was released back in 2015.


Monday, 22 July 2019

The Slayer bust by Carmine Giugliano

Anyone following along will know I reviewed Wukong sculpted by Carmine Giugliano a few reviews ago.

This review is covering one of his previous sculptures that I feel has not had its moment in the sun.

(Image from Carmine)

Monday, 15 July 2019

Raging Heroes miniatures selection


I've been meaning to take a look at a few figures from Raging Heroes for some time now, especially as I was building a Slaanesh army for Warhammer 40K which has kind of dropped of my radar in recent years to be honest, but now and then the odd HR Giger influenced design pops up from time to time and piques my interest.